CAA Title IX 50th Anniversary Team – Delaware

The Colonial Athletic Association continues its celebration of the 50e Title IX Anniversary recognizing five women from each institution who have made a significant impact during their time as a student-athlete, coach or administrator.

Today we present Delaware.

Elena Delle Donne, Basketball/Volleyball (2008-13)
Delle Donne was one of the most accomplished and recognized student-athletes in Delaware history. She had four incredible seasons on the hardwood, setting almost every school record and leading the 2013 Blue Hens team to a 32-4 record and a trip to the NCAA Sweet 16. In 2012, UD had a mark of 31 -2 and reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament. The 2013 Honda National Player of the Year, Delle Donne was a three-time All-American, three-time CAA Player of the Year, set 45 school records, set numerous CAA ratings and finished as No. all the time. leading scorer in NCAA history with 3,039 points. She averaged an incredible 26.7 points and 8.9 rebounds per game for her career. An outstanding student-athlete, she was twice Capital One National College Athlete of the Year and two-time CAA Scholar Athlete of the Year. Delle Donne followed her record-breaking performance at UD with an impressive career as a 2016 Olympic gold medalist, WNBA superstar and champion with the Washington Mystics, author, spokesperson and model.

Mary Ann Hitchens, basketball and field hockey coach/administrator (1969-2006)
Hitchens has enjoyed great success as an athlete, coach and administrator in more than 40 years of service to Delaware. She came to UD as a student in 1963 when intercollegiate athletics opportunities for women did not exist, but later enjoyed exceptional success as the head coach of women’s basketball teams. ball and field hockey. Hitchens posted a 71-35 record with six playoff appearances in basketball and had a 16-year mark of 196-76-30 in field hockey that included six national playoff appearances, including a second-place finish. National AIAW in 1978. During her tenure, she coached nine All-Americans and was the East Coast Conference Coach of the Year four times. Hitchens spent 29 years as an athletics administrator and served as senior women’s administrator from 1977 until her retirement in 2006. She served two terms as president of the America East Conference from 1992 to 1994 and was the first woman to hold this position. Hitchens was inducted into the Delaware Sports Museum & Hall of Fame in 1997. In 2000, Hitchens received the ECAC’s Katherine Ley Award, which honors an administrator of women’s athletics who is a strong supporter of opportunities for women’s athletics , a strong leader and role model for female coaches and administrators.

Dawn Mayers, swimming (1980-85)
A six-time All-American and a key performer during the dominant years of Delaware women’s swimming in the early 1980s, Mayers set a host of school records during a stellar career. She helped lead the Blue Hens to a 35-1 double record, an East Coast Conference final in 1983, the EAIAW Eastern Championships in 1981 and 1982, and a ninth-place finish at the AIAW National Championships. in 1981. During the 1981 AIAW National Championships, Mayers swam one leg on the national champion team in the 200m freestyle relay and was also part of foursomes that placed fourth in the 400m freestyle relay and seventh in the relay 200m medley. She held school records in eight events at various points in her career, including UD standards in the 200m backstroke, 200m freestyle, 500m freestyle, as well as five relay events. After graduating, she competed in masters swimming events and competed nationally in open water swimming and triathlon relays.

Margaret “Missy” Meharg, field hockey/lacrosse (1981-85)
A four-year star in both field hockey and lacrosse, Meharg earned All-American honors in field hockey in 1983 and lacrosse in 1985. In field hockey, she was player of the year in the East Coast Conference in 1983 and 1984. Meharg led the team to a four-year record of 49-25-5, including a 15-2 league mark, and the team won two season titles regular conference and a tournament title. The Hens qualified for the NCAA Tournament in 1982 and posted a national third-place finish. In lacrosse, Meharg stood out for four years on offense and helped the Blue Hens win national titles in 1982 and 1983, a third-place national in 1984 and two ECC titles. She was a two-time All-ECC selection and helped lead the Hens with a combined record of 56-15-1. Mehrag still ranks among the all-time top scorers in UD history in both sports. Following her college career, Meharg played seven years on the United States national field hockey team and has served as the head coach of the University of Maryland field hockey program since 1988. She has won over 300 games and led the Terps to seven NCAA national titles.

Greta Nauck, field hockey (2015-18)
Nauck was a standout performer who helped lead the Delaware field hockey team to three CAA titles and three NCAA Tournament appearances, highlighted by capturing the 2016 National Championship. She received the Honda National Player Award of the Year in 2016 and was a three-time NFHCA All-American (2016, 2017, 2018). Nauck was chosen as CAA Player of the Year in 2016 and 2017, and was named MVP at the 2016 and 2017 CAA Field Hockey Championships. His 33 goals and 76 points in 2016 rank among the top 10 in the league. history of the conference. Nauck has his name all over the Delaware record books, ranking first all-time in goals (82) and points (198), second in game-winning goals (15) and third in assists (34). .


Comments are closed.