Delaware headlines field hockey preseason honors

Delaware headlines field hockey preseason honors

RICHMOND, Va. (August 15, 2022) – Three-time defending Colonial Athletic Association champion Delaware was the star of conference preseason field hockey honors as the Blue Hens were favored to win the 2022 CAA and junior title Julia Duffhuis was selected as CAA Pre-Season Player of the Year, in a vote of the league’s seven head coaches.

Delaware was a unanimous favorite, garnering six first-place votes and the maximum 36 points to sit atop the CAA preseason poll. Northeastern followed with 28 points and a first-place vote, while newcomer Monmouth was selected third with 27 points. William & Mary had 22 points for fourth, and Drexel was fifth with 17 points. Hofstra and Towson completed the poll finishing sixth and seventh respectively.

Last season, Duffhuis earned CAA Defensive Player of the Year honors before leading Delaware to its third straight CAA title and being named CAA Tournament Top Performer. Last fall, the native of Bergeijk, Netherlands, led Delaware with 13 goals and 29 points, ranking second and third in the conference in each respective category. Duffhuis also received second-team All-America honors from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) following his performance in 2021.

The Blue Hens will be ready to challenge for their ninth CAA title in the last 10 seasons as Delaware brings back eight players who started in at least half of their games last season. Delaware is experienced in the cage, with a graduate student Lizzie Gabel back after posting a 1.76 goals-against average to rank second in the CAA last fall. Offensively, Ashlyn Carr is back after leading CAA with 11 assists in 2021 while scoring four goals for a total of 19 points. In addition, Kiki Oudshoorn is back on offense for the Blue Hens after ranking second on the team with nine goals and 22 points last fall.

Northeastern has reached the CAA Tournament four times in the past five years and will be looking to return this season. The Huskies return three of their best four-point producers from last season, including Lauren Rowe and Lara Taylor. Rowe was the only CAA player to record double-digit goals (11) and assists (10) last fall, finishing the year second overall with 32 points. Taylor had 11 points on five goals and an assist en route to CAA All-Rookie honors in his debut campaign.

Monmouth is entering its first season in CAA field hockey. The Hawks have won at least 10 times in six consecutive seasons and have qualified for their respective conference championship game 10 times since 2009. Annick Van Lange leads the Monmouth team in 2022 after winning America East Offensive Player of the Year honors last season. The Sint-Job, Belgium native had 39 points on 17 goals and five assists to help the Hawks go 12-6 last fall.

William & Mary is still among the CAA field hockey contenders and qualified for its sixth straight CAA tournament last fall. During the attack, William & Mary will seek to Pyrer Friedman, who earned CAA All-Rookie honors after his freshman season. Friedman should be exciting to watch in her second season after competing with the U-21 U.S. Women’s National Team this summer. Defensively, the Tribe look to more experience with seniors Tabby Billinghamthree-time All-CAA winner, leading the bottom line.

The Dragons nearly qualified for the CAA Championship Game in the 2021 spring season and will look to return to the CAA Tournament after missing the field last fall. the head of Drexel, Eline Di Leva, enters his junior season and received All-CAA First Team honors in his first two seasons. Di Leva led Drexel with seven goals and 20 points last season, also picking up six assists. Isabelle Jacobs has also been a fixture on the Dragons schedule for the past three seasons. Last fall, Jacobs beat Drexel with nine assists and added two goals for 13 points.

Hofstra was loaded with young talent last season and Pride will be more experienced this fall. Cami Larsson was one of the crucial upperclassmen last year, and Hofstra wants her back for a fifth year. Larsson has earned All-CAA honors three times in his career, including second-team honors in 2021.

Towson won a conference game for the second consecutive season in 2021, marking the first time Towson has won a CAA contest in consecutive seasons since 2010-11. The Tigers will look to build on the final two seasons in 2022. Towson is led by Georgia Beachleywho started every game for the Tigers last season and led the team in goals (5), assists (3) and points (13).

The 2022 season kicks off Friday, August 26, with six CAA teams taking the field for their season openers. The 2022 CAA Field Hockey Championship is scheduled for Friday, November 4 through Sunday, November 6 at Fred P. Rullo Stadium in Newark, Del., on the University of Delaware campus.

2022 CAA Field Hockey Pre-Season Survey

Crew Points
1. Delaware (6) 36
2. Northeast (1) 28
3.Monmouth 27
4. William and Mary 22
5.Drexel 17
6. Hofstra 9
7.Towson 8

( ) = Votes for first place

2022 Pre-Season Player of the Year: Julia Duffhuis, Delaware

2022 Pre-Season All-CAA Field Hockey Team

Last name School To classify pos. Hometown
Tabby Billingham William and Mary Sr. D/M Suffolk, England
Ashlyn Carr Delaware Sr. M Delmar, Del.
Eline Di Leva Drexel Jr. F Lelystad, Netherlands
Julia Duffhuis Delaware Jr. D Bergeijk, Netherlands
Pyrer Friedman William and Mary So. M Phoenix, Maryland
Lizzie Gabel Delaware Gr. GC Kennett Square, Pennsylvania.
Cami Larsson Hofstra Fifth year. D/M Cordoba, Argentina
Kiki Oudshoorn Delaware Jr. F Ede, Netherlands
Lauren Rowe Northeast Sr. MARYLAND Norwich, England
Lara Taylor Northeast So. M Norwich, England
Annick Van Lange monmouth Gr. F Saint Job, Belgium

Honorable Mention: Georgia Beachley (M/F), Towson; Sian Emslie (H), Delaware; Lieke Gorsse (M/D), Hofstra; Jonna Kennedy (GK), Northeast; Isabel Jacobs (M), Drexel

Follow the Colonial Athletic Association on Facebook, Twitter and instagram for up-to-date information and to learn more about all CAA member institutions and their teams.

Comments are closed.