Men’s #CAALax duo earn US IL honors

Inside the butt

BALTIMORE, Md. (May 16, 2022)

–Two Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) men’s lacrosse players have earned All-American recognition from Inside Lacrosse (IL) Media, the publication announced Sunday night at halftime of the final game of the first round of the NCAA tournament. , No. 2-host of Georgetown Delaware.

from Delaware Owen Grant was a second-team All-American selection on defense, while the Hofstra defenseman Bryan McIntosh received an honorable mention All-American.

Grant, the back-to-back CAA Defensive Player of the Year, has caused 33 turnovers this season and ranks second in the conference with 1.83 turnovers caused per game. The senior defenseman has caused at least one turnover in 17 of 18 games this spring, including 10 games with two or more. Additionally, Grant has 47 rushed balls while scoring six goals with three assists for nine points this season.

Grant helped Delaware win its first CAA championship title since 2011 and a pair of NCAA Tournament victories so far, including a 10-9 win over No. 2 Georgetown on Sunday night.

McIntosh was a second-team All-CAA selection in his first season with Hofstra after a four-year career at Mount St. Mary’s. The native of Jamison, Pa. leads the CAA with 40 turnovers caused and ranks fourth in the NCAA with 2.67 turnovers caused per game. McIntosh caused two or more turnovers in 13 of Hofstra’s 15 games and had three or more on eight occasions. The graduate defenseman reached a league high with five turnovers twice, on March 8 (Binghamton) and April 2 (Fairfield).

McIntosh was recently selected by Cannons Lacrosse Club in the 2022 Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) Draft, marking consecutive seasons a male lacrosse player Hofstra has been selected in the PLL Draft. The Cannons LC begins its 2022 campaign on Sunday June 5 against the Waterdogs Lacrosse club, and can be viewed on ESPN+.

Follow #CAALax on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for up-to-date information and to learn more about CAA member institutions and their teams.

Comments are closed.