PCI selects 24-member para-athletics team for Tokyo Paralympic Games

Image source: TWITTER

PCI selects 24 para-athletes for Tokyo Paralympic Games

The Indian Paralympic Committee (IPC) announced a 24-member track team on Saturday, featuring star javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia and high jumper Mariyappan Thangavelu for the Tokyo Paralympic Games, which kick off on August 24.

Besides Jhajharia and Thangavelu, who won gold in the F46 javelin and T-42 high jump events at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games respectively, other top para-athletes include world record holders Sandeep Chowdhury and Sumeet.

The PCI selection committee chose the team after a two-day trial at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on June 29 and 30. The selection meeting was chaired by PCI Chief Deepa Malik.

India was awarded 24 places, including four female athletes, by the World Para Athletics.

The committee also chose F-57 male javelin thrower Ranjeet Bhati, who was not on the long list of accredited athletes because his ranking was low before the trial.

“However, he significantly improved his performance in the final selection test and is ranked 5th according to the MES ranking of 01.07.2021,” said PCI.

“Its selection is subject to the issuance of accreditation for the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.”

The committee also appointed Sandip Sanjay Sargar (F-64 javelin) as a reserve athlete.

The team:

Men: Devendra Jhajharia, Ajeet Singh and Sundar Singh Gurjar (all F-46 javelin), Sandeep Chaudhary and Sumit (both F-64 javelin), Mariyappan Thangavelu, Sharad Kumar and Varun Singh Bhatti (all T-63 high jump) , Amit Kumar and Dharambir (both F-51 club throw), Nishad Kumar and Ram Pal (both T-47 high jump), Sonam Rana (F-57 shot put), Navdeep (F-41 javelin) , Praveen Kumar (T -64 high jump), Yogesh Kathuniya (F-56 discus throw), Vinod Kumar (F-56 discus throw), Ranjeet Bhati (F-57 javelin), Arvind (F- shot put 35), Tek Chand (F-54 javelin).

Women: Ekta Bhyan and Kashish Lakra (both club throw F-51), Bhagyashri Jadhav (F-34 shot put), Simran (100m T-13).

Reserve: Sandi Sanjay Sagar (male F-64 javelin).

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.