Turn back time with Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club

On your marks, set, go… for a return to Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club.

The Aberdonian walks through the band’s history from 1959 to 1995, covering trophy wins, training sessions and marathon record attempts.

Are you one of those who put their best foot forward?

1981: It’s all smiles as Aberdeen’s JOGLE (John O’ Groats-Lands End) team hit the beach. Left to right are Don Ritchie, Graham Laing, David Lang, Colin Youngson, Steve Taylor, Steve Williams, Steve Cassells, Michael Murray, Alastair Neaves, Fraser Clyne, Peter Wilson and Graham Milne.
1995: The Aberdeen Under-13 team show their joy at winning the Eastern District cross country league title for only the second time in 20 years. Joining the celebrations is Steve Cassells (back) who led the AAAC men’s team to their sixth title since 1988. Members of the Under-13 team are, left to right: Rob Smith, Gregor Kennedy, John Watt (with the Under-13 trophy), Alan Rose, Craig Mathieson (with the men’s trophy) Neale Harrison and Simon Marwick.
1978: Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club learns that four of its female members have topped the UK rankings. The British Belles pictured, left to right, Jenny Bole (13), Harlaw Academy; Gwen Stephen (13), Hazlehead Academy; Katherine Mathieson (12), Sunnybank Elementary; and Debbra Carle (13), Kincorth Academy.
1989: Aberdeen AAC stars Duncan Mathieson, Bob Drummond and Mark Davidson present the Octavian Relay Trophy they won the previous year.
1988: Home sweet home… such is the unanimous feeling of these members of the Aberdeen Athletic Club who return to Linksfield Stadium after 20 months of exile. The stadium was completely refurbished, with a new all-weather track, at a cost of £1.3million.
1972: Members of the Aberdeen Athletic Club limber up before heading out at the weekend to attempt a record-breaking John O’ Groats marathon at Land’s End. Left to right are Donald Ritchie, Colin Youngson, Robert Heron, Alistair Wood, Martin Walsh, Steve Taylor, Alistair Neaves and Peter Duffy.
1959: This group formed the Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club team which made club history by winning the East of Scotland 4 x 2 1/2 mile relay cross country championship in Edinburgh, winning the Mackenzie Cup , which they show here, out of the capital for only the seventh time in 46 years. From left to right are Steve Taylor, who posted the second fastest lap of the day; John Grey; Bob Duncan and Dennis Whiting.
1979: It takes more than a snowfall to dampen the enthusiasm of long-distance runners on a cold January day. While other sports were affected, it was a case of ‘on your mark’ for competitors in the combined Women’s and Junior Cross Country Championships hosted by Aberdeen AAC in Hazlehead.
1978: Doug McAllister oversees as (left to right) Lea Masson, Joan Reid, Valerie Tyrie, Fiona Auld and Deirdre Auld go through a workout routine.
1989: On their marks… four of Aberdeen’s AAC hopefuls will take part in the Aberdeen round of the Securicor Express Sprinting for Britain competition at the Chris Anderson Stadium. Left to right are Heather Pirie (13) Lynette Carroll (13) Katrina Leys (15) and Corrie Butler (15).
1978: Both the men’s and women’s sections triumphed in the North East Athletics League – the first time both trophies have come to Aberdeen since 1960 when the league was founded. The Aberdeen men have dominated the league over the years, winning the trophy 15 out of 19 times, but it was the girls’ first success since winning in Year One.
1978: Those members of the Aberdeen Amateur Athletics Club who have just won the Shield in the under-11 competition which takes place at the same time as meetings of the Scottish Young Athletes League. Pictured with team leader Hunter Watson are (back row, left to right) Andrew Boyle, Duncan Mathieson and Martin Norstron. Before – Robert Begg, Paul Goodman and Steven Boon. Other members of the winning team were Kevin McGee, Malcolm McKay and David Fowlie.
1988: Standing left to right: Duncan Mathieson, Kate Rice, Dawn Simpson, Sandra Gunn and Sarah Still – with steeplechase specialist Steve Wright in front.
1982: Members of the Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club Girls Sprint team who topped the UK charts. Left to right, Susan Adams, Michelle Bruce and Lynn Kelly.
1989: Medalists in the long jump (backstroke) – Fiona Lumsden (bronze), Suzie Robertson (silver) and Donna Quirie (gold) made history by winning all three medals at a Scottish championship.

Already subscribed? Login

[Running back in time with Aberdeen Amateur Athletic Club]


Comments are closed.